Toggle menu

No change for Great Yarmouth constituency in boundary proposals

The Boundary Commission for England has published new revised proposals for constituencies across the country and opens a final month-long consultation, giving the public a last opportunity to send in their views.

A man ticking a box to vote

The proposed changes make no alterations to the Great Yarmouth constituency, this will remain the same as it is currently and follow the Great Yarmouth Borough Council boundary.

And a potential move to transfer Stalham and Hickling from the North Norfolk constituency to the Great Yarmouth constituency has been rejected.The Commission took into consideration more than 45,000 comments sent in by the public during the previous two stages of consultation, and has changed nearly half of its initial proposals based on the feedback.

A third and final consultation on the new map of revised constituency proposals is open now until December 5 and the public are invited to view and comment on the new map at

The Commission is undertaking the independent review of all constituencies in England after a request by Parliament. The number of electors within each constituency currently varies widely due to population changes since the last boundary review and the 2023 Boundary Review will rebalance the number of electors each MP represents, resulting in significant changes to the existing constituency map. As part of the review, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

After the final consultation closes on December 5, the Commission will analyse the responses and form its final recommendations. These will be submitted to Parliament by July next year.

While the Great Yarmouth constituency, currently held by Conservative MP Brandon Lewis, is not changing under the proposals, the Boundary Commission is suggesting a new 'Waveney Valley' constituency is created, centred around Diss and including the southern part of Norfolk and the northern part of Suffolk.

In other changes in Norfolk, Wymondham would be transferred from the Mid Norfolk constituency to the South Norfolk constituency. Broadland would become 'Broadland and Fakenham' and former Prime Minister Liz Truss's South West Norfolk constituency would be slightly smaller, losing some of the land between Thetford and Attleborough to the Mid Norfolk constituency.

Last modified on 11 October 2023

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email