Toggle menu

Privacy Notice: Discretionary Energy Rebate

Who we are: Great Yarmouth Borough Council (the Council), Town Hall, Hall Plain, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, NR30 2QF, 01493 856100, is the data controller for the purposes of the UK General Data Protection Regulations (UK GDPR) and the Data Protection Act 2018.

How we use your information: We will use your personal information for the purposes of providing you with a Council Tax (Energy) Rebate. The lawful processing ground for this information is defined under 6(1)(e) of the GDPR commonly known as Public Task.

Data sharing: The data you provide will be shared within Great Yarmouth Borough Council, The Department for Levelling Up Housing and Communities, The Cabinet Office and any other Local Authority. We may also use your personal information for the purposes of the prevention and detection of fraud, this includes other government grant schemes.

Retention: Your information will be kept strictly confidential. It will be stored in a secure, password-protected system on the Council's computer network. Your personal information will be deleted 6 years after the financial year that the Council Tax (Energy) Rebate was paid.

Your rights: You have a number or rights available to you, including the potential right to see copies of all the data held about you, to ask for it to be corrected or deleted, to request the Council to restrict what it does with your data in certain circumstances, to object to what the Council may do with your data, and to data portability. Please note that these rights are not absolute and there are circumstances where they do not apply or the Council may override these rights, however, if this is the case you will be informed of this.

Further information: If you want more information you may contact the Council's Data Protection Officer at or telephone the Council on 01493 846325 and ask to speak to the Data Protection Officer. If you are unhappy with the way your personal information is being handled you can contact the independent Information Commissioner at:

Last modified on 12 September 2022

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email